top of page

Level 5 Early Years Lead Practitioner Apprenticeship

Level: 5

Duration: 24 months (not including End Point Assessment)

Course Type: Apprenticeship Standard

Who is this for?
Room Leaders
Deputy Managers
Assistant Managers
Senior Practitioners
Lead Practitioners
Pre-School Leaders and other similar roles

What will be achieved?
Level 5 Early Years Practitioner Standard
TQUK Level 5 Diploma for the Senior Practitioner Qualification (Worth 90 RQF Points)
Level 2 Functional Skills in Maths and English (if no prior exemption)

What will be involved at level 5?
The Early Years Lead Practitioner Level 5 Apprenticeship is made up of several components which develop the practitioner’s knowledge, skills and behaviour. The purpose of the Level 5 is to develop proactive, influential and highly skilled practitioners who work directly with young children. They will be responsible for leading day to day practice, effectively role modelling play based learning and supporting others to develop their practice. The programme is spread across 24 months and covers ten topics. Following enrolment and induction, the topics are grouped into three themes which complement each other. These are: Health, Safety and Wellbeing, Children’s Learning and Development and Positive Environments.

End Point Assessment (EPA)
After a successful delivery of the programme, the End Point Assessment will take place. The EPA is a synoptic assessment of the knowledge, skills and behaviours that have been developed throughout the apprenticeship. The EPA for this standard is made up of three assessment methods: 1. Observation with Questions. 90 minute duration. Grading of fail, pass or distinction. 2. Professional Discussion underpinned by a Portfolio. 60 minute duration. Grading of fail, pass or distinction. 3. Case Study Report, Presentation and Questioning. 12 week preparation, 40 minute duration. Grading of fail, pass or distinction.


bottom of page